Peace Corps!

peace_corps_artAs of an hour ago, I have decided to accept the Peace Corps invitation that I received yesterday. I have been in the application process since November, but was not sure what was going to come of it when I applied. I have been waiting for several months for the invitation to join, but now that the time has come to make a decision it has been much more difficult than I thought it would be. Do I feel as though I am somewhat abandoning my friends and family? Yep. Do I fear failure? Absolutely. Have I already cried several times? Most definitely. Do I question what the heck I am getting myself into for twenty-seven months?  Every other second. However, with the support of my wonderful sisters and my close friends, I have made the decision to take the plunge.

I will be departing July 7th for a staging event for several days in the states, then I will leave for the Philippines for a three months training course before heading to a specific village where I will live for two years. I will be joining the Children, Youth, and Family Services branch as a Youth Development Facilitator. I still have many things to accomplish before this actually takes place, just pray that may body and teeth are as healthy as I think they are so that the process doesn’t get deferred.

Honestly, I am a little scared about the venture, but on the other hand I am incredibly excited about this amazing opportunity that has presented itself before me. I had two major decisions to make in the last 24 hours, but what it comes down to is the fact that I know God is going to be with me wherever I go. I do not think that there a concrete plan for my life, but I know without a doubt that Christ promises to be with us no matter the path we take. So this is the course I have chosen to pursue!

If you have any questions please feel free to ask me!

6 comments

  1. Stick by your desires and aspirations and all shall be a great adventure. Just make sure that if you believe in God ‘s protection, you make sure to support him in looking out for you. …:):) Keep safe and sound, please.

    Like

  2. Hi Rachel, I’m hopefully a future peace corps volunteer waiting for medical and legal clearance. I just had a question about your time line. Did you apply Nov 2013?

    Like

Leave a Reply

