Parasites and Peace Corps

packing up a storm

Before I head out to the Philippines I wanted to post a blog giving everyone an update on my recent trip to India and my upcoming move abroad. After I graduated in May I travelled to India with two of my friends, Kelly Carnathan and Leah Anderson. The trip started out rough when my flight to Chicago was cancelled and I missed my flight to India. The airline rebooked us…for five days later.

However, we did eventually arrive in Calcutta and had a great start to the trip by volunteering at Mother Teresa’s Missions of Charity and meeting volunteers from all over the world. We also were able to go and visit a leper colony outside of Calcutta with the Brothers of Charity which was a wonderful opportunity. It was incredible to see such a marginalized population able to heal and flourish in a safe and loving environment. We also had the opportunity to tour a business called Sari Bari (a part of Word Made Flesh ministries) which gives women in the red light district the opportunity to learn how to sew and how to use old saris to make bags, blankets, etc. It was pretty awesome. After leaving Calcutta, we flew to New Delhi for a couple of days to see a few sites, including the Taj Mahal, which happened to be spectacular. During our trip Kelly and I both got sick – we had expected this to happen so we had come prepared with antibiotic – still not sure if those actually helped. One thing I did not expect however, was to continue feeling sick after I returned. I finally had several tests run and discovered that I had brought a pesky parasite home with me. I am once again on antibiotics, but should be in good shape soon!

I am now preparing to leave for the Philippines tomorrow morning with the Peace Corps. I have been packing and visiting a few people this week and will fly out at 7 a.m. I fly to L.A. first and will meet everyone in my group there. We will have meetings and then we will fly out as a group Saturday morning for the Philippines. The first three months I will be in training and will hopefully have somewhat decent internet access. After the three months they will tell me where I will be for the next two years in the Philippines. I would love to hear from everyone while I am gone so feel free to send me a message on facebook or e-mail. I just cannot guarantee how quickly I will get back to you 🙂

Love you all!!

One comment

  1. Mark and I love you dearly and are so proud of you. God bless you and keep you. May you be his hands and feet. We’re signed up for your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

