I’m Imperfect but I’m Enough

My Refuge House is in the middle of summer camp season here in the Philippines and we have been having a great time! This week we have been leading GLOW camp (Girls Leading Our World) for our girls at the shelter, and we have been having wonderful discussions and activities around gender equality, self esteem, leadership, health, and life goals. For an additional camp activity I have been leading art journal sessions based on Brene Brown’s book “The Gift of Imperfections” and the e-course she created along with Oprah. I have read the book several times because I love it so much and took the e-course last year with a friend. Both were very impactful for me and I wanted to share this experience with the girls I work with here. I took a few of the journal lessons from the course and shaped them to fit our girls and we have had good fun.

Our first day of the journal sessions we talked about a quote from “The Gifts of Imperfections” which says “Yes, I am imperfect and vulnerable and sometimes afraid, but that doesn’t change the truth that I am also brave and worthy of love and belonging.” The girls had to think about this quote and then either write how it applies to their personal lives or draw a picture of how they practice being brave. After the journal time I had each girl write “I’m imperfect but I’m enough” on their arms and we took pictures of each of them. We took two photos of each, one with their hands covering their face so we could show others, and one without their faces covered to be printed and glued into their journals. Feeling worthy and enough is important yet challenging for most people; however, the challenge of believing this is increased significantly for our girls who have been objectified, abused, and deemed replaceable. At My Refuge House the girls are are discovering their valued worth and seeing that they truly are enough. They are beautiful, precious, and completely irreplaceable in the eyes of God.

Here are the beautiful results from the art session.

S1410056

S1410016S1410015

S1410019

 

S1410022 S1410024


S1410029
S1410031 S1410034

S1410039S1410061

S1410043

S1410046 S1410058

One comment

  1. […] of Imperfections, along with Oprah. [The photos from one of these activities were posted on my blog here]. The topics included how our imperfections can be gifts, cultivating authenticity, sharing your […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

