Thai Tea Delight

IMG_2392

When I traveled to Thailand several months ago I had the pleasure of learning to make several food and drink recipes due to my Thai cooking class and the lady I stayed with there. Both were wonderful experiences and I loved having the opportunity to learn more about various foods and techniques. One day, after an adventurous tour with some elephants, my hosts took me to eat at the nearby mall where they recommended I try the Thai tea. I was curious about the orange, frothy drink and I readily agreed to taste the cold beverage. I formed an instant bond with my first sip and knew this relationship would last a lifetime. My hosts recognized my new love affair and reassured me that it could easily be made at home; I radiated with excitement. The next day, Alberta showed me the simple process of concocting Thai tea and before I left Thailand I made sure to pick up my own supply of Thai tea bags. Since coming back to the Philippines I have made this tea several times, tweaking the recipe to how I want it to taste, and I have finally arrived at a pretty good rendition of the magical beverage I tasted during my trip. So here we go:

IMG_2315IMG_2327

IMG_2321IMG_2322
Ingredients:

4 Thai tea bags (1 cup of Thai tea loose leaf)

4 Cups water

3/4 Cup Sugar

1/4 Tsp Cardamom

1/4 Cup Sweetened Condensed Milk

1/4 Cup Cream

1/4 Cup Milk

IMG_2377IMG_2378

IMG_2380IMG_2392

Directions:

Boil water and pour into a glass picture. Stir in and dissolve the sugar and cardamom before placing in the tea bags to seep. Place in refrigerator for several hours to cool the tea. In a separate small bowl mix the sweetened condensed milk, cream, and milk together and either add to the tea picture once cool or have people add their own amount to their individual glasses. Serve tea over a glass of ice and enjoy thoroughly!

 

 

Leave a Reply

