Tropical Granola Bar Recipe

IMG_3334

In an effort to overcome the barrage of sugary snacks located EVERYWHERE I have been making my own granola bars, and I have to admit that they are pretty fabulous. The ones I have made are more tropical in flavor, since it is what I have access to, but various dried fruits can be swapped for the ones listed in this recipe. I used to make granola bars when living in the U.S. and have no idea why it is taken me this long into service to experiment with a recipe here, but I have finally done so and I would like to share the results. There is not an exact science to making granola bars, which I love, you just need to make sure it all sticks together. You can always add more ingredients as you go along if the consistency does not look right. I also love granola bars because you can add whatever you want to depending on the flavor and nutritional value you like. I have kept this recipe pretty basic but adjustments can be made to your choosing.

*In the photos below you will see chocolate placed next to the bananas, I would like to add that these were not actually put into the recipe. My friends and I consumed that particular ingredient before it was added 🙂

IMG_3342 IMG_3341

Ingredients:

1 cup – Quick cook oatmeal

3 cups – Dried fruit: pineapple, mango, guyabano (finely chopped)

1/3 cup – dried coconut

2 small bananas (mashed)

1 1/4 cup – Peanut butter

1/4 cup – Honey (optional)

2 tp – Cinnamon (optional)

1/2 cup – Chocolate (optional)

IMG_3336IMG_3347

Directions: 

Use a double broiler (or one large pot with water and a smaller pot resting on top) on the stove so the mixture does not burn. Mash the two bananas with a fork and add it to the double broiler, over medium/low heat, along with the peanut butter. Stir until well mixed – if you want to add some honey you would do so here. Next, add the dried fruit and cinnamon and stir together for several minutes. Finally add in the oatmeal and stir until well mixed. Turn off the burner and scoop the mix into a 9×9 pan. Use a smaller pan or flat dish to press the mixture. This part is crucial for the granola bars to stay together, so continue pressing for several minutes. If you want to add chocolate I recommend placing it on top and pressing it in during this stage. Once done, place in the refrigerator for several hours to set the bars. Once cooled the bars can be cut and enjoyed!


IMG_3353 IMG_3354

Leave a Reply

