DIY Toothpaste & Deodorant

IMG_0029

At the end of 2015 I made a commitment to live without plastic as much as I could by getting rid of many  items and replacing them with more sustainable options (somethings I cannot control at the moment and I choose not to stress about it). In this new endeavor one of the first changes I made was switching to homemade toothpaste and deodorant because it was a very simple swap. I have now been using them for about six months and they are great. My teeth feel incredibly clean, and though the deodorant is not an antiperspirant, it does reduce body odor. The toothpaste and deodorant I make is the bare bones recipe but you can find other great methods that incorporate essential oils and other ingredients to make it even better. These recipes are incredible simple and if you do not have the ingredients already at home they can be purchased at any food store: coconut oil, baking soda, and corn starch. If you live in a tropical climate with coconuts you can even make your own coconut oil (as shown here)!

Note: my recipes will probably vary from other methods because coconut oil in the Philippines is always a liquid, it never solidifies. Given this, I create a consistency for both products that takes this into consideration.

IMG_0017 IMG_0020

Toothpaste

2 tsp Coconut oil

4 tsp Baking Soda

If you are working with solid coconut oil you will need to warm it until it is liquid. You then add the baking soda and oil, stirring until it is well mixed and creamy in consistency. For using this toothpaste as wet the toothbrush first, then apply the toothpaste, then brush. The first time I put on the toothpaste first and the water washed it all away when I got it wet. Because their is no essential oil or sweetener added it will taste a little bitter when you use so little that it is not too noticeable.

IMG_0025 IMG_0024

Deodorant

3 tsp Coconut oil

3 tsp Baking soda

3 tsp Corn starch

As with the toothpaste, you will need to warm the coconut oil to a liquid before using. Once a liquid, slowly stir in the baking soda and corn starch until well mixed and a smooth consistency. I keep my deodorant in a jar and when I use it I scoop a little out with my finger and rub it into my underarms.  If you would like to add a scent you can add a few drops of essential oil.

Both of these are incredible easy and inexpensive to make, there are no chemicals or strange additives, and you no longer have to worry about plastic packaging! When I run out of these product I just step into the kitchen and take a few minutes to make a new batch. Does it get more simple? I think not.

IMG_0030

2 comments

Leave a Reply

